Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

03/4/2017 Lectures by James Charlesworth and Lee McDonald

March 4, 2017 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Charlesworth – “The Theological Value of the ‘Rejected Texts’ and Dead Sea Scrolls for Understanding Jesus”  Charlesworth

This lecture will challenge the assumption that the books of the so-called Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha are of no value or that they are “false” and “heretical.”  Such a jaundiced view fails to see their value, even if excluded from most Christian Bibles.  Some of these books were sacred for communities of faith and they shed important light on the theology and interpretation being explored and debated among Jews and Christians at the end of the Second Temple period.  This lecture will help us understand that these books are of great importance in our study of this world-changing period.

James Charlesworth is the George L. Collord Professor of New Testament Language and Literature at Princeton Theological Seminary.

For more information about James Charlesworth, click here.

McDonald – “Why and When Was Scripture Written?  Looking at the New Testament Writings”  Lee_Martin_McDonald

This lecture will explore the factors involved in the development of the biblical canon.  To appreciate this development with nuance, it is necessary to inquire into the motivations for the writing of the books that in time were recognized as authoritative and canonical, as well as the writing of the books that in time were not recognized by the majority as authoritative.  It is also important to consider when and how these decisions were made, with regard to both the Old Testament and the New Testament.

Lee McDonald is Emeritus President and Professor of New Testament Studies at Acadia Divinity College in Nova Scotia.

For more information about Lee McDonald click here.


March 4, 2017
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm


Chapel at the Lanier Theological Library
14130 Hargrave
Houston, 77070 United States


Lanier Theological Libarary
All content ©2020, Lanier Theological Library. All rights reserved. Photo credits to Laurel Wilson, David Capes, Joshua Siefert, Rebecca Fleming